Week 9- Pre Production Work for Brief 2

At the end of last week I received my brief for assignment two. The concept of this assignment was ‘seeing is believing’ therefore it was all about storytelling and how narrative is portrayed on screen. I have chosen to create a 90 second short film as my assignment, as I feel this is the area in which I have the most experience.

Before coming up with ideas I wanted to carry out research into what films are already out there in terms of 90 second shorts. One site which I found particularly of use was depict.org which was a competition for similar style of films. Using this site I found films such as these, which I found were very effective and engaged the audience particularly well.

depictOrangeLogo

How to Tell When a relationship is over:

http://www.depict.org/2003/how-to-tell-when-a-relationship-is-over/?category_request=picks

This film was set in one scene and each shot was composed the same. However the behaviour of the characters is what makes each scene unique. I feel that in order to make a film such as this successful, it is important to have an engaging storyline. This particular film maintains the interest of the audience using

Hand Maid:

http://www.depict.org/2015/hand-maid/?category_request=2015

This film was unique in the fact that it does not feature dialogue or feature the face of the protagonist. This showed that sound was not crucial to making a good film, but instead ‘a picture speaks a thousand words.’ The story is implied through hand movements and this is a technique which I found to be very innovative and successful.

The idea which I have is to tell the progression of a mother daughter relationship. I was inspired by the likes of the music video for ‘Wasn’t expecting that’ by Jamie Lawson. (Jamie Lawson – Wasn’t Expecting That) in this video there is some beautiful imagery showing the love and compassion between a mother and daughter.

ju

I want my film to be done in a video blog style. Due to health issues the mother will not always be around to see her baby grow up and therefore she has made a video so her daughter will never forget how much she loves her. The format will be similar to this from Emmerdale (Emmerdale: Donna makes a video for April) however will include overlays of the relationship and how the mothers spirit is still there, even when she has gone.

I continued to work on pre-production work for brief 2. I realise that planning is key to any project as it allows you to produce a well thought out product relevant to the target market, establishes realistic expectations and ensures high product values.

From looking at the genre of Drama/Action I found a sub-genre named ‘Nostalgia’ and I feel that this is the genre best suited to my film.

nostalgia-definition

I have chosen to create a film which will target women. I want to make a film showcasing the importance of strong female relationships, and there’s no better relationship to demonstrate with than a mother and daughter. I hope to target the 16-35 age bracket, however I hope that the film will have an impact on women, regardless of their age.

Below I have attached a treatment which I have written about my pitch, which I have decided to name ‘Dear Daughter.’ I had a number of other name ideas including ‘Love always’ and ‘A Mothers Love’ however I felt Dear Daughter was a more suited name as it suggested what may happen and I feel the use of alliteration was effective.

Dear Daughter Treatment

Using this treatment I was then able to write a script. This was only the second script I had ever written, therefore I wanted to re familiarize myself with the industry standard format which this should be completed in. I found sites such as Final Draft particularly helpful. (www.finaldraft.com/mm_media/mm_pdf/How_to_Format_a_Screenplay.pdf )

A completed version of my script can be found here: Dear Daughter Script

As part of the industry, shot lists as a key document. The purpose of this is to ensure that when filming, all shots that are needed are capture to make the process of post production easier. This document will document what composition the shot will have, how this will be shot and the shot type. Below is my shot list for Dear Daughter.

Dear Daughter Shot List

Leave a Reply

